Susannah’s language experiments: the adventure continues


ice cream sandwich aftermath. πŸ™‚

S: Wanna see how tahmyar?!

Me: Ummm… see what?

S: How tahmyar! (running over to the door frame)

Me: Uh, sure.

S: See?! See- that’s how tahmyar! (pointing to the writing on the door frame where we’ve marked her height)

Me: OH! Yes – I see how tall you are! πŸ™‚

*mental note: “tamyar” = how tall I (my) am (are). Good to know. πŸ™‚

fuzzy cell-phone shot – Lydia hiding under the blanket with Subs. πŸ™‚

S: Can I have the ba-seat, Mommy?

Me: The what?

S: I want the ba-SEAT! (getting frustrated and pointing dramatically)

Me: The receipt?

S: Yes! The ba-seat!

*************************

S: (heavy sigh) I just need to be lax. (relax) πŸ™‚

************************

S: (looking at a picture of herself as a baby): This was me when I was a baby!

Me: Yep – that’s when you were a baby

S: But now it fits me!

Me: Ummm… yes?

*mental note: it’s easy to confuse clothes with pictures….?

Lydia’s pacifier – a perfect finger glove.

So sometimes Lydia will cry a lot. Since she’s our Lydee bug, all her nicknames usually end in bug – hungry bug, tired bug, crawling bug – in the case of the crying, we’ve sometimes called her screamer bug. Not exactly a compliment, but, sadly, that is the nickname Susannah picked up on.

Periodically, Susannah will approach Lydia with the best intentions, cup Lydia’s face between her two little hands and say so sweetly:

“Lydee! You’re such a creamer bug! Are you such a creamer bug?!”

“Creamer” because Susannah hasn’t yet figured out how to combine the “s” sound with another consonant. πŸ™‚ That makes it even cuter, and very difficult not to bust out laughing when she does this. πŸ™‚

Susannah “helping” Lydia fall asleep. πŸ˜‰

AND now, a warning to all you moms out there. Please take wisdom from my experience and do not commit this error yourselves.

For most of her life Susannah woke up reliably at 7 or 7:30. Not ideal, but we learned to accept that we had until 7 at least.

But lately her clock got off or something, and she started waking up at 6:30 or 6:45. May not sound like a big difference, but when you don’t get to sleep much through the night, you don’t want to wake up even a minute earlier. So we decided it was not ridiculous for us to require her to stay in bed until 7 – except, how do you get a 2-year-old to do that?

Simple, I thought- just buy a digital clock, set it by her bed, teach her what 7 looks like and tell her she can’t get out until it says 7. I even wrote 7 on a piece of paper and hung it by the clock to help her remember what the number looks like.

The first night went bad. We gave her clear instructions about the clock – what to look for, etc. – to which she nodded repeatedly as if she understood it completely.

But the experiment took a break that night when I heard Susannah crying at 8:45 p.m. and went in to find her looking worriedly at the clock saying “I see 7! It’s time to get up now!”

I unplugged the clock.

A week or two later in the middle of the day, we’re playing in Susannah’s room and she says:

“I see 7!”

The clock says 11:42 a.m.

Me: Oh really? Where?”

S: Right there! On the paper!

Me: Uh, yeah, you’re right. It does say 7.

S: I have to get up now!

(Now, I’m thinking, that’s really not the point, since we’d be delighted for her to sleep until 8 or 9. I had already given up on the experiment at this point, but a few minutes later she confirmed my decision with this:

S: I see a 7! I see 7 on the clock!

Me: Really? (looking) Yep. You’re right. (it’s 11:47)

πŸ™‚

Well, we tried. But we definitely learned that, while she’s not too young to recognize numbers, she’s definitely too young to understand time.

So, just in case you were wondering, this brilliant idea doesn’t work for 2-year-olds.

We’ll try again, but maybe we’ll wait a year… or two.


My sweet, beautiful Lydee bug sleeping in the car.

Leave a Reply

