I play favorites with my children


Every time I hug my girls or put them to bed or give them kisses I want to say

“You’re my favorite! You’re my favorite baby girl in the whole world! You’re the most wonderful, the most special, the most beautiful girl in the world to me.”

Because, honestly, that’s how I feel about my two girls – two incredibly different little souls, and both of them are my favorites.

But I don’t end up saying it because it doesn’t seem right, because I CAN’T have a favorite child, right?!

Recently I read something on Katie Davis’ blog (www.kissesfromkatie.blogspot.com) that really explains well what I feel about my kids, and why it’s the natural way a parent loves their children.

The last few weeks have been so full of God’s blessings and extravagant surprises. Every day another gift, beautiful and unexpected. I feel spoiled rotten by the God of the universe, His love just too good and too perfect for little, broken me.

I shared this with a close friend recently, giggling with surprise and awe like a little girl who just received a marvelous present from her Daddy. His response was perfect. “He loves you, Katie. You’re one of His favorites.” He laughed and I laughed but it stuck.

One of His favorites. That is what I have felt like this last two weeks. Lavished with love. But isn’t that what He wants every one of His children to feel, all the time? Each and every one of us created perfectly in His image. Each one cherished. Each one “one of His favorites”. How would life change if we thought of each other as such? 

I carried it with me today. As I bought beads from women in a slum I thought of them as His favorite people. As I counseled a mother struggling with alcoholism I wept that one of God’s favorite people was struggling like this. I rejoiced with a grandmother who for the first time proclaimed Jesus after watching Him heal her granddaughter miraculously last week. And I smiled at the Joy that I knew God found in her – one of His favorites.

Here’s my favorite daughter. 🙂

And here’s my other favorite daughter. 🙂

Turns out they’re God’s favorites, too.

One thought on “I play favorites with my children

  1. I find unique ways to call my girls my favorite such as my favorite first born daughter, my favorite “Insert their name here” in the whole wide world…. My favorite 6 yr old… etc.. Good way to instil their uniqueness in the Father’s eyes too!:-)

Leave a Reply

